Day 2: Polar Invasion Calls for Warm Foods

Standard

This morning we woke up to 54F weather. Fall in July, along with the news that one of my good friends is getting married and moving to Paris, inspired a quick browse of David Lebovitz My Paris Kitchen in search for a nice warm lunch recipe. I ended up finding a warm lentil salad with goat cheese. Bonus, it required I walk out on the porch and clip some fresh herbs from our garden.

I had made lentil salads before, but generally I would sauté the carrots, onions and celery before adding the lentils and broth. This time, the recipe called for cooking the lentils for 15minutes at a simmer and then adding the chopped vegetables. I have to say I liked the final texture of Mr. Lebovitz’s recipe more so than the one I had been so accustomed to. It was great to use the same ingredients in different ways and end up with a very tasty result. 

I tried to take a few pictures, but they didn’t do the dish’s flavor any justice, so I decided to omit them and just refer you to My Paris Kitchen, pages 233-234. 

On another food note, check out my Instagram feed for pictures of the latest tomatoes from our garden. We had one with our paninis yesterday and they were the freshest tomatoes I have ever had! 

Hopefully tomorrow we will have better weather and I’ll post about more summery recipes and activities. In the mean time, I’ll try to enjoy the next few hours of natural light to walk Emma and practice some more embroidery stitches. 

Don’t forget to came back for updates!

Leave a Reply

